More in this section:

Gastrointestinal Cancer Care Team

Sarasota Memorial's integrated cancer program uses a multidisciplinary team-based approach to leverage our specialists' collective experience and expertise in diagnosing and treating even the most challenging diseases. What does this mean for our patients?

It means each patient has a dedicated team of highly trained specialists, working together to ensure coordinated, customized care, every step of the way—through diagnosis, treatment, managing treatment side effects, rehabilitation, and supportive care and survivorship.

At the helm of the Gastrointestinal Cancer Specialty Program is Medical Director Kenneth Meredith, MD. Dr. Meredith works with primary care physicians, gastroenterologists and oncologists throughout the region to ensure patients have access to the most innovative and successful treatments available for gastrointestinal cancers. A pioneer of minimally invasive and robotic techniques for complex gastrointestinal (GI) cancers and conditions, Dr. Meredith ranks among the highest volume robotic surgeons for esophageal and pancreatic cancer surgery.

SMH’s gastrointestinal cancer care teams also include gastroenterologists, endoscopists, diagnostic and interventional radiologists, pathologists, GI oncology surgeons, medical and radiation oncologists, oncology nurses, an oncology nurse navigator, an oncology-certified social worker and palliative medicine specialists. Our board-certified physicians offer a personalized approach to the safest, least invasive and most effective treatments available.

Sarasota Memorial is one of only a handful of medical centers in the nation with a multidisciplinary cancer team experienced at performing complex and minimally invasive surgery for gastrointestinal cancers and conditions.

Jellison Cancer Institute G.I. Cancer Team Physician Members

The Jellison Cancer Institute's multidisciplinary team of community physicians offers our patients the area's most comprehensive cancer care by leveraging team members' combined clinical expertise. Members of the these physician teams commit to participating in tumor boards, clinical research, oncology education, community service, medical staff leadership and other Cancer Institute activities.

Current members of our Gastroenterology Cancer Physician Team are:


Kenneth Meredith, MD, Gastroenterology Cancer Specialty Program Medical Director

Russell Novak, MD, FACS

Samir Agarwal, MD, FACS

Pedro Briceno, MD

Steven Halbreich MD, FACS

Joseph Mets, MD

John Nora, MD, FACS

Scott Stevens, MD

Eric Suescun, MD, FACS

Medical Oncology

Luis Chu, MD

Janice Eakle, MD

Amir Harandi, MD

Fadi Kayali, MD

AJ Patel, MD

Miguel Pelayo, MD

Radiation Oncology

Kunal Saigal, MD, Medical Director of Radiaton Oncology

Matthew Biagioli, MD

Tyler Hollen, MD


Stephen Kucera, MD

Scott Corbett, MD, FASGE

Charles Loewe, MD, PA


Jason Tedesco, MD

Amy Budke, MD

Jeffrey Zacks, MD


Jasmin Harvey, MD