More in this section:

Breast Cancer Care Team

At Sarasota Memorial's Brian D. Jellison Cancer Institute, each patient is matched with a hand-picked team of specialists to leverage the full extent of the care providers' experience and expertise in diagnosing and treating even the most challenging cancers. Patient care teams and care plans are specifically tailored to fit the needs, goals and case details of each patient. 

Our breast cancer care teams include surgeons, diagnostic radiologists specialized in breast imaging, interventional radiologists, medical and radiation oncologists, pathologists, oncology nurses, an oncology patient navigator, an oncology-certified social worker, palliative medicine specialists and a board-certified genetic counselor, as well as nurses, dietitians and clinicians who provide patient support. 

SMH Dr NovakAt the helm of the Breast Cancer Care Team is Co-Director Russell Novak, MD, FACS and Co-Director Sarah Kimball, MD, FACS.

Dr. Novak is a board-certified general surgeon and a previous chief of surgery at Sarasota Memorial. He has specialized expertise in surgical treatments for benign tumors and malignancies of the breast and soft tissues, including the latest options for nipple-sparing surgery.SMH Dr. Kimball

Dr. Kimball is board-certified and fellowship trained as a Breast Surgical Oncologist, dedicated to the treatment of breast cancer and benign breast disease.

For more information about Sarasota Memorial's breast oncology services, call 941-262-7500. Need assistance with a physician referral? Call our HealthLine team at 941-917-7777.

Jellison Cancer Institute Breast Cancer Team Physician Members

The Jellison Cancer Institute's multidisciplinary team of community physicians offers our patients the area's most comprehensive cancer care by leveraging team members' combined clinical expertise. Members of the these physician teams commit to participating in tumor boards, clinical research, oncology education, community service, medical staff leadership and other Cancer Institute activities.

Current members of our Breast Cancer Physician Team are:


Russell Novak, MD, FACS, Breast Program Co-Director

Sarah Kimball, MD, FACS, Breast Program Co-Director

Steven Halbreich MD, FACS

Scott Stevens, MD

Eric Suescun, MD, FACS

Orlando Cicilioni, MD, FACS

Kenneth Leong, MD

Alissa Shulman, MD, FACS


Medical Oncology

Janice Eakle, MD

Andrew Marple, MD

Pavan Tandra, MD


Radiation Oncology

Kunal Saigal, MD, Medical Director of Radiation Oncology 

Matthew Biagioli, MD

Alan Porter MD, FACR



Jason Tedesco, MD


Sara Floyd, MD